PA Directory

Karen Dowen-Cloughton

Areas: All Medway Towns, Newington, Upchurch

About the PA

Hours available: 16 per week Has transport: Yes
Age: 45-64 Gender: Female

Availability

Morning Afternoon Evening Overnight
Monday yes yes yes
Tuesday yes yes
Wednesday yes yes
Thursday yes yes
Friday yes yes
Saturday yes
Sunday

Additional information about working hours

I would be able to offer an overnight stay once per month in the future.
Non smoking household preferred

Overview

Relevant Personal Experience

For the last 3 years I had been caring for my mam full-time. We moved her down from the North East of England 7 months after she had open heart surgery, to live with us in 2016. Mam had heart failure and the accompanied breathlessness and oedema. She was also on oxygen therapy for COPD for a short while before she died in February this year at 88 years of age after a stay in hospital. My father died at 83 years of age with leukaemia. My father-in-law had Alzheimer’s Disease and my mother-in-law had COPD and lung cancer and had oxygen therapy for over 15 years.

 

Professional Experience

Before I became mam’s full-time carer, my last employment was with Medway Council. I was an Early Years Specialist Teacher, Early Years Inclusion Adviser and Early Years Area SENCO. I advised, trained, and worked with parents, schools, children’s centres, and preschools in SEN making referrals, writing reports as well as early identification and intervention until I was made redundant in 2017.  Previous to this I worked as an Inclusion Teacher at Danecourt School supporting children from YrR to Yr6 with SEN in mainstream schools.

I have also worked overseas in special education, training teachers in 2 large special schools in Lahore, Pakistan through the medium of Urdu and English. In North Macedonia (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia) I wrote and delivered a new curriculum for special schools and classes, trained teachers, and university students. I was also responsible for setting up provision in the form of day centres for pre-school children with SEN throughout Macedonia. Through workshops, I trained parents of children with SEN and volunteer to work in the day centres. In consultation with a Bulgarian social worker, I designed a training programme to improve the circumstances of pre-school children with SEN in orphanages in the Plovdiv area of Bulgaria which was to be delivered by Bulgarian social workers. I have also taught in special schools in the UK in Hull and the North East.

 

Qualifications

Master’s in Education: Educational Management, Curriculum Development, Policy and Planning, Special Educational Needs

University of Newcastle Upon Tyne (Sept 1994 – Sept 1995)

 

 

BEd (hons) Severe Learning Difficulties (2-19 years): First Class

Humberside College of Higher Education (Sept 1985 – July 1989)

 

Other Skills and Interests

Originally, I am from County Durham in the North East of England. I live in Rainham with my husband Steve, daughter Ysabelle who is 15, and our dog Gracie. I have a love of all things unique from people to languages, food, and culture. I enjoy baking especially sourdough bread, brewing kombucha, gardening, walking our dog Gracie and writing children’s stories which I would love to get published one day. I am a Christian and attend Cornerstone City Church in Gillingham which is a large and lively multi-cultural church.  I strive to live a peaceful life, loving others and caring for our beautiful planet as best I can.

 

Personal Note

All through my career I have endeavoured to improve the outcomes for vulnerable children. During this process I have increased my experience in motivating people, raising moral and self-esteem, often in the most extreme of circumstances and with limited line management. I have gained effective communication skills from the experience of working with diverse groups of people both in the UK and overseas. I have had to be determined, adaptable, confidential, sensitive, diplomatic, and embracing of different cultures, religions, and languages to lead and make change happen for vulnerable children and their families. When I became a full-time carer, all this changed. It took me a while to adjust to the endless hospital visits and waiting but it was one of the best things that I ever did, to care for my mam, and would do it all again in a heartbeat. When I was a caring for my mam, I really needed some respite care. This is the reason why I would like to do this role to take the responsibility of the carer for a short while so that they can have a little ‘me’ time and be the carer they need to be once more.

Areas: All Medway Towns, Newington, Upchurch