PA Directory

Kate Ogden

Areas: Chatham, Gillingham, Rainham, Rochester, Strood

About the PA

Hours available: per week Has transport: Yes
Age: 45-64 Gender: Female

Availability

Morning Afternoon Evening Overnight
Monday yes
Tuesday yes yes
Wednesday yes yes
Thursday yes yes
Friday yes
Saturday
Sunday

Additional information about working hours

I could be available the occasional evening.

Overview

I would love to be a Personal Assistant as I have always enjoyed working with people and have had experience of working and supporting children and adults with additional needs.  I am friendly, energetic and chatty and have a good sense of humour.

I am a qualified teacher in special needs and taught in special schools with a wide range of additional needs ranging from specific to severe. I taught for eight years at a special school for pupils with epilepsy, autism and learning difficulties. I undertook several training courses on epilepsy and am aware of how epilepsy can affect people in different ways.

I set up and managed the pre-school special needs Portage service for Medway and Swale. This provided early intervention from birth to five, giving support for parents and children with a variety of special needs such as cerebral palsy, Down’s Syndrome, autism and language difficulties.

I have regular contact with adults with learning difficulties as two of my close friends have adult children who are wheelchair bound. I spend time with them encouraging their communication skills and enabling them to go out in the community. My own daughter has had health problems and I am familiar with tube feeding, giving medication and attending appointments.

I have done extensive voluntary work with adults with mental health problems, cared for elderly people with dementia and people undergoing cancer treatment.

I am flexible and would be delighted to help and support individuals in order to give personal care and support within their own home and help with any activities or tasks they choose, developing their independence. I am keen to offer support to facilitate participation in social and physical activities within the community. I enjoy helping people live their life in the way that they choose and enabling them to participate in the activities they choose.

Areas: Chatham, Gillingham, Rainham, Rochester, Strood